Last Saturday, May 10, 2010 our son, Bryan received his diploma from the University of Kentucky!  He earned a BS in Arts and Sciences, specifically in Biology.  We are so proud of him!

BS Degree in Biology

The ceremonies were held in Rupp Arena and they were very nice albeit long.  After the President’s ceremony that ended at 3:30 Eastern, we were sent on our way until the College of Arts and  Sciences ceremony at 6:30 – so, we went off to check on his apartment and to eat (Carrabba’s Italian Restaurant – his favorite)!  All in all it was a very, very nice day, even if Caryn and I did freeze to death.

On the knitting front, I am finished with the back of my Granite Cardigan!  I know, it’s a minor miracle!  I felt like I kept knitting and knitting and it just wouldn’t grow!

Granite Cardigan Back

Granite Cardigan Back

The armhole depth is 9″ – yeah, I am about a half inch longer than my actual measurement, do you think that will make a difference?  I was shooting for 8.5″ and getting frustrated with measuring every two rows (had to end on a WS Row) so, I got caught up in Lost last night and went a little too far. . . that little ring of stitches on the right bottom are the cast on for the Left Front.  (Yeah!)  Now, here is a question, and I really, really would appreciate some comments on this:  I purchased 8 skeins of BFL Worsted from Lisa Souza’s wonderful dyeworks for this sweater, I have used 2.75 skeins on the back.  Obviously I have two fronts, and two sleeves to go. . . would you bother Lisa to try to make more of this color, or should I be ok?

Please help me!  There are so many times I am paralyzed by thinking I will run out of yarn, that I don’t even start the project!

I have also been busy with shop items, although, I am quite discouraged about it all.  A newspaper ad was run for two weeks about my business to teach knitting and/or spinning, and I didn’t receive one single phone call.  I’ve had all of $37 in sales from my Etsy Shop – it sucks, so, I am back to looking for Full Time work again.  But, there is nothing out there. . .

To end on a positive note, we had relatively little flood damage, and we are all back to normal again!  Yeah!  And I am going to the First Annual KY Sheep and Fiber Festival this weekend!! Whoo Hooo!