It all started innocently enough, I wanted to meet new people, make new friends, friends that like the fibery side of life!  So, on Saturday I went to Magpie Yarns in Lexington and joined the sock club.  So? you say.  Well this is this month’s sock, Brun ist die Hoffnung:

Grun Sock

Grun Sock Top


Grun2
Trying a short row toe –

I have worked and worked at this, I am now on my third set of needles, and my second attempt at a short row toe without holes!!  I have to say it’s pretty cool looking, but this one is too:

Impressionist Toe Up

Toe Up Attempts

And it’s not as hard!  I’ve never successfully made a toe up sock . . . so, I am trying that out on my own.    I thought this would be good to bring to Knit night with the “Nifty Needler’s” that meet up at the Madison Co. Library in Richmond, on Monday evenings. Wasn’t too sure about them after the first meet up, but, after last night, I’m sure. What a fun group! And you know what?  I met a lady there, that lives down the street from me. . . what a freakin’ small world isn’t it?? Tonight I am meeting up with another gal here in Berea, at the Coffee and Tea Shop (at 6:00 pm) to try to get something going down here.

All this galavanting around to meet up with fibery folks is bad for my resolve not to start new projects until I finish “that one”.   So far, I have two new socks going, one baby hat and one baby booty on the needles, not to mention the Granite Cardigan. . .   you know how it goes, this one is too complicated to bring, this one is too big, this one is too – well,  too something, right?  But, in my defense I did finish plying the shetland lace weight I’ve been working on:

Peony's True Colors

Peony's True Colors

Isn’t that pretty?  I’ll tell you, it’s pretty hard to get the color to show correctly!  I filled, that bobbin to the brim when I was plying:

Full Bobbin

Are we there yet?

And then I spliced the two single bobbins together to completely empty a bobbin.

Remainder

Remainder

I had a surprising amount left on one, and one was very nearly empty, which tells me that I have found the sweet spot to get lace with this fiber, and hopefully, I can continue spinning lace and not fingering weight!