Well, did you all miss me? I had no internet access while I was in Maine, so the purchase of the Netbook was basically a waste. But, on the other hand we do like to be in the living room with it to check e-mail or browse a while, so I guess it was a sort of Father’s Day present to Chris. How’s that for justifying a purchase?!

When I got to Mom’s it was pretty cool, weather wise, but sunny. As the week progressed it got colder and it rained and rained. . . what to do in the rain? Well, Mom thought of everything and this is part of what we did:

Horse Puzzle at Mom's

Horse Puzzle at Mom's

Mom and Donna and I worked on this throughout the week, and it was really a lot of fun! We also went to Portland, to the Central Yarn Shoppe and browsed around the store. We tried to find the spinning shop down the street, but the yarn store clerk wasn’t helpful at all with directions, and I didn’t know the name of the place to put it in my Garmin. . . So, from there we went on to Kennebunk, and Kennebunkport. Eureka! A wonderful store, called The Custom Shop and the owner was a doll, even if she was six feet tall and I felt like a midget beside her. I purchased some Queensland Rustic Tweed and started a scarf, in the same pattern that Mom is making with another yarn – this yarn is to die for, let me tell ya! The picture is really boring, so, I’ll show that one later. So, we’ll move on to the Hidden Squares and the small progress on that:

Hidden Squares 06-2009

Hidden Squares 06-2009

Pretty, huh?
Then Donna and I went to New Hampshire, specifically to the town of Derry, which has the most fabulous yarn and fiber shop I have ever been into:
Yarn and Fiber Co.

Yarn and Fiber Co.


Like, OMG! It was fabulous, I got some Sereknity Yarn in Pomegranate color, and some CTH in Cherry Blossom and . . . and I got to meet up with an internet friend, Sherry, from the FT yahoo group, and the yarn picture is crap, the sun was hiding this morning. . . I think I want to move to New Hampshire now.
At the end of my stay at Mom’s the puzzle looked somewhat like this:
Almost Done -

Almost Done -


We actually got a little further than this, but I started feeling silly for taking so many pictures of it!
The topping to all this fibery goodness was that Mom and Donna made a strawberry shortcake for us to take to the cookout at my brother, Scott’s for dinner one evening:
Strawberry Shortcake

Strawberry Shortcake


This is the Fourth of July tradition in my family, and we do this in Kentucky as well, when the kids are home that is! So, this is the end for today, I hope you all are having a wonderfully free weekend!