I think in an attempt to find the “perfect” no brainer project to knit while I am visiting Mom in Maine I have ended up starting three different things! See, I know that there will be no good concentration time for counting, or following any kind of pattern – and I mean that in the fondest of ways. . . Mom and I like to talk, talk, talk don’tcha know. And I have a long layover in Detroit, so the combination is kind of making my travel knitting plans kind of wacky! I am kind of tired of making socks, but I also know they are the perfect take a long. . . Bah! What to do, what to do?

So, here are a couple of those items started in my quest:

The Hidden Scarf, which I now think I have figured out the method to the madness:

Hidden Squares Scarf

Hidden Squares Scarf

Apparantly, you make one whole side of the scarf and then turn it around and make the otherside! I will need at least 5 stitch holders, I do have a bag of “notions” but at the moment I have not found it! Yes, my craft/wool room is a nightmare! But, we won’t go there right now!

The Second attempt is Fleece Artists Criss Cross Scarf:

Criss Cross

This is an excellent candidate, except the handspun is lace weight and black to boot, so it still makes a very fiddly project, I mean I have to look at it constantly! Due to the nature of the pattern which I can’t really say, as the pattern is a one row repeat! So. . . Yesterday I started the Oat Couture Curlicue Coverlet, and I think that one might win. . . but, I really need to get to the end of the first “block” to be sure. Remember Goblin and Purplehaze in Romney? I am making it from that. I will probably have a problem with yardage, but I keep making yarn and then worrying about running out. . . so it sits and I do nothing. I decided I need to get over it and get on with it! No picture tho, sorry, maybe next week, depending on the wireless connection coverage in Maine.

And here is Granite, which is definitely staying home, that way I won’t mess it up:

Granite as of 6-21-2009

Granite as of 6-21-2009

Almost two full repeats now, only short about three rows!

And finally, finally I leave you all on Father’s Day with a Magnolia Blossom as my gift to those who have to wear both hats, and don’t get the recognition on this day! And of course, to all of the male father’s that may read this blog! (Is there anyone? Hhhm?)

Pretty Magnolia!

Pretty Magnolia!