I’ve been noticing through some of the Yahoo groups I am in, and in the knitting group I knit with in town, that there are a lot of us that have lost our spark. The hidden motivator within that makes us oooh, and awwwh, over this pattern or that color, or that combination of things that make us *have* to have that pattern or we will simply die!! Yah. I have to agree with everyone who is feeling this way.

Do you think it might have to do with life in general at this time in our history as a nation? I dunno, but I personally think it has a lot to do with it. I mean if you don’t have the money to spend, it kinda makes the oooh and awwwh go away doesn’t it? I don’t want to go into my personal feelings on the Nation’s problems, I think that is better left to the more outspoken of us. However, I do want to say, that I think Glenn Beck is a guy worth listening to, although, he will deflate any balloon you might have thought was floating above you, in a heartbeat. Anyway, doom and gloom is not what this blog should be about, right?

I am one of the fortunate ones, (but not a Fortunate Son, born with a silver spoon in my mouth, tho) both my husband and I are still working, our house is now paid off in full, and Number One Son will be graduating from UK in December! So, actually, my spending hasn’t really been curtailed, although, I really need a program you know?

I’ve been working on Granite, and it’s still a fun, fun knit, now that I know what the heck I am doing! But, it’s boring seeing the same old stuff week after week, and I’ve been searching for a good bring with me pattern for my visit to Maine at the end of the month. I think I have found two actually! Yah, miracles and all that – here is the Hidden Squares Scarf by Lijuan Jing, which you can find here at Earthfaire:

HIdden Squares

HIdden Squares

This is a real fun knit, and although I only have a scarf version, I would think I could add more yarn to make it a great looking lap throw for the couch or the dorm room or whatever! This color is M10 or Reds even if it does look purple here. . . I am using a size 7 (4.5 mm) needle, and you really do need a double pointed second needle (I’m using a short circular, since I don’t have the dpn), although the instructions call for a stitch holder. These instructions are in my personal opinion, written in a very non US intuitive way. I don’t mean any disrespect, but they are very much like the Japanese writing in English I deal with every day at work, which isn’t always easy or intuitive.

And I’ve been spinning, again, another fiber by Leah, at Yarn or a Tale You all know I love her stuff:

Kid Merino Sliver

Kid Merino Sliver


What is this going to be? Well. I don’t know, but it sure is pretty and it makes me feel good to boot. Tell me though, sometimes I get the yarn twisting back on itself before it winds on to the bobbin – Can you see it? It’s on the bottom left, I didn’t take this one to show that, it just randomly jumped in my head to ask:

kid merino sliver close up

kid merino sliver close up

Ok so, I guess this is quite long enough, eh? Sorry ’bout that – Hope you all have a great week! Love to all from all of us!

Cats in a box!

Cats in a box!

Aren’t they funny??