Yah, you guys remember what happens this time of year for me, right? Another wedding anniversary is celebrated! I thought that this year would be a quiet ho-hum affair, just another year more or less. So I made plans to go to the Spinning Guild and show the group some fiber and some wool tools like combs, cards, flicker brushes and dog combs. . . when Chris says to me – hey, I got Bryan to come home this weekend to watch the animals so we can go to Louisville, what do ya think?

What did I think? Well, Whaa Hoo, we love that city. So, off we went! (After I contacted the guild Treasurer and President and explained that, yah, my dh is a romantic after all!) We went to Joe’s Crab Shack and had steamed pots (OMG are they yummy!) and some margarita’s that only had tequila in them and no mix at all, and it’s a good thing we were walking back to the hotel! Getting up on Saturday proved to be a bit of a challenge, but we made it out on the town by 9 AM and roamed the streets, we saw lots of these:

Gallopolooza Martini

Gallopolooza Martini

These horses were everywhere and painted by different artists, which were sponsored by the different establishments of Louisville, this one was a Martini Glass with olives on an olive skewer – do you see it? There was a checkered cab with the Louisville skyline, a UK horse (there is a Univ. of Louisville) so this was surprising to me) called Thoroughblue:

Gallopolooza Thoroughblue

Gallopolooza Thoroughblue

The city is old, with lots of historical buildings and the local artists are fully celebrated! We went into the Kentucky trades museum and had a blast looking at the glass work, pottery, woven rugs and jewelry being made by Kentuckians.

Then we went traipsing around and found the Cathedral of Assumption. This was the most beautiful church I had ever seen! It was established in 1789 and was the first diocese of the America’s.

Cathedral of Assumption

Cathedral of Assumption


And inside:
Cathedral of Assumption

For more information go here: http://www.cathedraloftheassumption.org/ It’s really pretty cool. In my opinion, that is.

So, after more carousing on Fourth Street that night (think of Bourbon Street in New Orleans, only clean and nice), we had a Mint Julep’s and then ended up in a British Pub called “The Pub” drank some Tennent’s Lager and headed back to the room – it was a blast. . .

The knitting duffle came with me, but I only actually did any knitting during the drive up and back so, the back of Granite is coming along, although I feel like I am having issues with my interrupted rib on the sides. . . one too many stitches I think, but it makes me ill to think of tinking again! So, on we go. . . like it or not, as long as I am consistent at this point I think, right?

Granite as of June 7th 2009

Granite as of June 7th 2009