“From there to here, and here to there, funny things are everywhere.”

I love that quote and I think it can be very inspirational if taken in the right context. As and example, let’s take the simple thought that while I was working on the Kai Caridigan I got the notion in my head that I simply must do something different with the next sweater. So, in that thought process I decided to make an Aran cardigan next time. So, what do I choose? A pattern (Am Kamin) that I just can’t keep straight in my head since it has 9 separate patterns in it! I must be showing my age here. . . So let’s skip all that, and jump to where I am now. . .

Remember the Granite pattern I showed you, but couldn’t seem to get guage? Well, as I was about to rip the Am Kamin out for the final time, I realized that the stitch count seemed approximate to the Granite and surely I could do that one, couldn’t I? Or had all my knitting mojo finally left me and all I could do now was spin yarn? An entrapment in the car (going and coming from Lexington) showed me that yes I can still knit:

Granite Cardi by Janet Sazbo

Granite Cardi by Janet Sazbo

Now, one of those columns was knit, ripped, reknit, and let’s do that one more time. . . good grief! But, it’s staying as it is now, since the yarn simply can’t take any more ripping! And, maybe you can see that I am having an issue with the knit through the back loop and whether or not I should be doing it on the large 3 by 2 cable, but I’ve finally stopped the ktbl on that and since this is the back, I am moving ahead!

Granite Close up

Granite Close up

And I ripped out the socks and started Pomatomus for “in the car” knitting, and those are going along, quite well too. I’m not very far on anything yet, but at least I’m moving forward!!

Pomatomus

Pomatomus

The Concert of my life, was simply and utterly fabulous! Elton John and Billy Joel sang together for about a half hour, then EJ played for the next hour alone, then BJ came back out (he is a riot, too) and they finished together. All in all it was a 4 hour show and oh, I just can’t tell you how good it was. If you ever, ever get the chance, it is worth the outrageous price. . .

And, that’s how we got to here!