Every Spring I do the same thing, I get enamored with the thought of processing a fleece to the end result of a sweater. . . like Mel did with her Fern! She is my hero, and I think a sister in a past life or something, as we have a lot of commonality, and I could only hope to meet her standard of knitting! And I do believe that the same sentence applies to Vicki with her gorgeous, gorgeous lace and spinning!! So, this year Vicki tempts me with this vendor: White Fish Bay Farm. I wanted a small fleece, that was my only criteria, so . . . I purchased Justine, a 3.5 pound very fine fleece. Well, what the heck did I do? I don’t have a lot of luck with fine fleeces and they mostly end up in a pillowcase or the garbage bin. But, here she is:

Justine Prior to her bath

Justine Prior to her bath

I followed the directions for washing given with her, and she is just simply gorgeous! I am so proud of myself for not messing this one up!! I have been flick carding the ends only and setting aside to spin when I have a big enough pile of wool, but I don’t think that will be a problem:

Justine after her bath

Justine after her bath

Oh, I love it! I made a small, small sample with a Bosworth featherweight spindle, before the wool was even really dry, I was that excited about it. NO, I won’t spin the whole thing this way, but it gave me an idea of what she is like:

Justine Single on Morado FW

Justine Single on Morado FW

And in the meantime, I have been working on Am Kamin. I am struggling with the twist stitches on the purl side, so not much progress to be seen, and I am not convinced that my cables match what others have done, but it’s what I am interpreting the directions to say, given a Japanese reference book.

Am Kamin Back - Beginning

Am Kamin Back - Beginning


Back to my test swatches to try, try again!