It certainly is in my book! I mean you could take take u out and the word would still be pronounced the same. . . I tried and tried and tried to get gauge for that Granite Cardigan. Well, it just didn’t work, and I guess I could have searched through my stash to find something that would work. But, the Real Issue is that I want to work with this BFL Worsted yarn I purchased from Lisa Souza cause I love the color and I love the yarn!

BFL Worsted Ice-Ice!

BFL Worsted Ice-Ice!

So, what to do? Choose another pattern, right? Ok, I did. Here is my first swatch for Am Kamin on size 5US or 3.75mm needles:

Guage with 3.75 mm needles

gauge with 3.75 mm needles

Yah, too small and it looks wonky, so what’s the deal? Ok, look up twisted stitch knitting. . . and I swear this is not plainly evident anywhere on anything I read, that you have to twist on both sides of the work! Well, what the hell, no wonder that first swatch looks like poo!
Try again:

Guage with 4.0mm needles

Guage with 4.0mm needles

Well, holy cow! What a difference that made! The stitches really pop now. . . but. . . did I get guage, which is 28 stitches to 4 inches?

Am Kamin Guage Swatch

Am Kamin Guage Swatch

Nope. This one was with a size 6US or 4 mm needle and you know, if I had truly been paying attention to that first swatch needle size 3.75mm needle instead of the way the stitch was worked, although as you can see, that was important too, I would have jumped to a size 7US 4.5mm instead of the 4.0mm which only increased by .25 which can be huge sometimes, but not with this pattern, obviously.

So, now what do I do? Do I jump to a size 8US, 5.0mm? I think I do need to, but I’ve used the same yarn so much it’s getting fuzzy, and I am worried that will effect the gauge too. I always, always worry about running out of yarn! Darn, darn, darn! I guess I just keep the swatches and keep trying one or (God forbid) two more times. See, I also don’t want the fabric to be too flimsy either . . . picky, picky, picky!

In the meantime, I joined the local spinning guild “An Enchanted Yarn“, which is now meeting on Saturdays! Yeah! So, I can make it now, and it was a lot of fun! This month’s fiber is Black Diamond, which is carbonized bamboo. It’s a real treat and I am spinning it on my Rose with the lace flyer and bobbin:

Black Diamond Lace

Black Diamond Lace

See? I tell ya, the Rose can do anything! I have another ounce to go, and I am still debating on plying or not plying, putting it with the bright pink soy silk . . . I dunno. Too many choices! Ok, off I go – my sister is coming to visit, and we are going on the annual knitting retreat Thurs – Sat morning, so, I’m not sure about posting next week or not. Hope you all enjoy your Easter holiday (if you participate) and I’ll talk with you soon!