Well, I can’t really say that I can wear it yet, as there is still a lot of work to do, like weaving in ends and sewing on buttons, and steaming it out. . . but look what I did this week! (This is going to be a heavy picture post, I hope you don’t mind!)

First of all I had to finish that second sleeve which I did by Thursday evening:

A Sack with Sleeves

A Sack with Sleeves

So ok, now the fun begins but I really need some light before I try to cut a steek, and there is a few things that I do before I cut. First of all I try to separate the ends in the steek; they don’t need to be woven in, but they do need trimming to a manageable length. Since it was now Friday night, and I was not going to start anything new, I started weaving in the ends. My dh has the tv on constantly (why? I have no clue) and I just can’t simply sit and watch television.

Separating Ends:  Steek Prep

Separating Ends: Steek Prep

The next thing I do, is to take masking tape and secure the ends before I cut, that way I don’t cut an end and end up in a mess! So, here we go:

Not for the feint of heart!

Not for the feint of heart!

Then after cutting the whole thing, I sew the edges (what I wouldn’t give for a serger sewing machine!) and turn it around:

Now it's a Cardigan!

Now it's a Cardigan!

Now it’s a matter of picking up all the way around, and I chose to pick up at a rate of 3 stitches to every 4 rows. I have no clue how many stitches are actually on the needle, (who cares?) and when I pull it down a bit it looks good, but all of this is trial and error until you get a nice flat band and the only way to check it is to pull it off the needles (by binding off or running a thread through all the stitches.) I’m too lazy to do all that, as I am knitting it looks good so, I’m keeping my fingers crossed! So this is my bands so far:

Front Bands

Front Bands

I have used Maggie Righetti’s Sweater Design in Plain English for at least three issues in this cardigan (shaping a V-Neck, placement of buttonholes in the button band, and neck width ratio.) I love this book, it is simple and speaks to me in a way I totally understand, and I know I will use it again on the next sweater I attempt. Anyway, there they are – the button bands and button holes! Three more rows, and it will be totally finished. (Knitting wise, that is!) I am debating on the final color on the button band, should I do one of the blues or make it match the sleeves with teal? My buttons are denim color . . . I might have to go back and redo the ends of the sleeves. . . what do you think?

So here we are this morning without any daylight in the kitchen so it’s a little dark!:

So close, eh?

So close, eh?

Please, Please tell me what you think! I really like it, how about you?