I think I can finally say that I have gotten the hang of spindle spinning. I also have to say that I think the reason I finally “got it” was due to buying a cheapo wrist distaff and it has made all the difference in the world to me. I honestly don’t know why but I am apparently a left handed spinner – like “what the hell?” I can’t do squat with my left hand. Yah, I think the left handed spinning is a misnomer, since all that happens with the left hand is to control the amount of fiber/twist going into the drafting triangle. Right? Well, it seems so with me. (And let’s not forget that if there is a hard way to do anything that is my first normal reaction on how to do the process in the first place!)

So, I thought I would show you some of my progress at spindle spinning, and as per my usual habit, there are more than one going at a time!

Ledbetter Spindle with Spunky Eclectic Fiber – Rose Garden:

Ledbetter with wrist distaff

Ledbetter with wrist distaff


I was trying for lace (I’m always trying to obtain that weight, figuring I can make it thicker with navajo plying or plying with another two ply), but I think actually this is spinning to a nice fingering weight. I finally got the hang of adding to wound off cop, so, this has really taught me a lot.
The next spindle is an American Beauty by Vermont Spindle with some Merino wool that was dyed by a daughter of a friend.
American Beauty

American Beauty


The actual merino is way, way felted and has to be pulled through combs to be able to spin it at all. The color is really pretty and worth the effort, I think.
I just recently blogged about the Holly Spindle, but it is definitely a favorite as well as the hand carded batts that came from Lisa Souza’s Knitwear and Dyeworks, these batts can not be more highly recommended.
Lace Weight

Lace Weight

I think they could spin themselves! I did finally obtain laceweight with this spindle but, only after I had purchased this one:
Tsunami with Grafton Colorways

Tsunami with Grafton Colorways

which I am sure you all know is a Golding Ring Spindle with Grafton Fiber Colorways which is another fiber club that Linda has begun this year. So, I hope I have given you guys enough spindle and fiber eye candy, and I hope you go check out some of those links as all of these vendors are the very best, I think.

As far as knitting goes, it just can’t be done with kittens on your lap! This is all I have accomplished with the new babies around:

Kitty Knitting

Kitty Knitting

Umm, Yah, that is what 20 stitches?? LOL! Well, I put it down because I don’t want any pulls or tears when I am so close to finishing this sweater!
These are the buttons I am thinking I will use:
Do you like these buttons?

Do you like these buttons?


Do you think they are too small? What about the color? Any comments would be appreciated on this, I always struggle with buttons!!