It’s been a week of packages at my house!  I went on quite a binge when Nitro died and now the end of it is coming in . . .  Chris thankfully, just tells me to stop.  And then I do for a while, but I have to say “My name is June, and I’m a Shopaholic”  I really think so!

During the Christmas holidays, the Jonathon Bosworth team put out a ad for a “Holly” Spindle.  It was gorgeous and I put in an order.  They had a lot of trouble with the wood, and couldn’t get a balance midi spindle, and they were getting worried that they were running out of the wood.  And you know?  I can’t even remember the actual name of this wood!  I will have to e-mail Sheila and ask again!

Close Up of Holly .88 Oz.

Close Up of Holly .88 Oz.

Anyway, this is a midi, which is .88 ounces in weight, with a cochin rosewood shaft.  Isn’t it pretty?  Oh, and it spins (IMO) as well as the Golding I purchased recently.  So, I am really pleased! ( Please ignore the stupid coaster in the background, this was the best close up that I got out of about a bazillion pictures!)

Holly Again

Holly Again

The fiber this pretty is sitting on is a Mahogany and Peroglyph batt I purchased from Lisa Souza.  This batt is totally to die for; it is perfection in fiber form.  I got two of this color and four in the Sand color-way. 

 

Mahogany and Petroglyph

Mahogany and Petroglyph

This is spinning up as perfect lace-weight, apparently, I can only spin a lace weight yarn on a spindle, so therefore, you see why I am constantly buying them now. . .  the Bosworth’s even have a buy 4 get the fifth one at 20% off and that is for the entire year.  So, that’s a deal, right?  Can you see where the single is plying back on itself?   That’s lace weight yarn, oh yeah!! 

Holly-Cochin Rosewood

Holly-Cochin Rosewood

I dare any of you to go on out and get a Bosworth spindle, it will change your mind about spindles, believe me!  I personally like the midi’s but a lot of people prefer the mini’s go check them out here:  Journey Wheels.