Hey guys, how are ya’ll today?  It’s been a much better week for most of us, although there are still some without power!  Good Lord!  At least the temperatures have risen to a very nice 60 degrees + so, at least people are not freezing or killing themselves by bringing their gas grills inside to warm themselves by.  (LIKE, What???)    There has been something like 27 deaths from the ice storm with some of those due to stupidity, stubbornness, or whatever you want to call it, but it’s all the same in the end isn’t it?

Ok enough, it’s sunny and beautiful out today, so hopefully, Mother Nature has stopped being hateful, and we can start moving towards Spring!  And since it’s been a bit warmer, I have gone back to my window and wheel and continued to spin:

 

Self Portrait Long Draw

Self Portrait Long Draw

Yah, I was watching Beth Smith on Spindlicity spin with her Russian Lace Spindles and oooh, I want one!  But, instead I went over to my wheel and tried some of her techinques.  So, Yeah!  It works with a wheel too!  Do you all know how hard it is to get a decent shot of oneself?  The self timer on my camera only allows for 10 seconds!  So this was the best I could do, and please ignore the size of the thighs, I am working on that issue. . .

In the middle of spinning the merino on the wheel, I decided I needed to get that lace algae off the bobbins and ply it up, especially since I had gotten a new Lazy Kate for my birthday:

 

Full Bobbins Algae

Full Bobbins Algae

This is a vertical kate from Alexandra’s Craft’s in oiled Walnut wood.  I absolutely love it, when you pull on the singles they just glide along and there is absolutely no jerk from the tensioning string it simply stops.  It’s simply fantastic!  So, anyway, I brought this to the Spin in at Enchanted Yarn (and this weekend I was the only spinner, oh well!) and thought I would breeze through these two bobbins in no time.  Well, no.  I really work at making my yarn balanced and I don’t just fly through it, do you?  So by lunch time I had to pack it all up and get it all back in the car, attached to the wheel. . . yup, one broke, so I broke both and knotted them and continued from there after I set back up at home.  This is where I got to by last night, with lots of distractions and non plying events in the middle, like phone calls and laundry and the doggies howling at the sirens going by:

Still Not There Yet!

Still Not There Yet!

I really wanted to show you a final skein with wpi’s and length, and all that, but well, that’s where I am right now, here’s a cool shot, but ignore the large cable cord in this one, it’s an extension cord, for our portable heater and I didn’t see it till I got back here at the computer:

Plying Algae

Plying Algae

In the meantime, I am still working on those Sailor’s Delight Socks, and they are such a slow go on US Zero needles (2.0 mm)!!  The next pair I do will be on size 2’s at least!  So this is my progress on those:

Sailor Delight Socks

Sailor Delight Socks

Yeah, the end is in sight!  I think. . .  One thing I keep noticing is my tension, once I started with straight stockinette on the foot,( I quit the pattern it was getting all messed up) is the tension I am getting! To me it looks pretty and even and really almost like a machine knit (yah, like that’s not me) what do you think?

Look at my tension!

Look at my tension!

And on a final note I wanted to show you what I received from my sister this week for my birthday:

Glass Art Octopus

Glass Art Octopus

Chris and Donna both thought it was purple, but I see blue and green – how about you?