Hey, I want to thank each and every one of you that responded to me in either comment form or e-mail on my loss of Nitro. He was a happy and well loved cat and that is more than can be said for a lot of other cats out there. And that’s all I could have done for him. So, let’s move on. . . come with me Mmmk?

So this is going to be really long in pictures, and you know how I can go on and on. . . When I am depressed and stressed out I do two things: I shop and I spin or knit. Last week at work we were going through three audits that required copying and copying and copying of workpapers, or schedules, or taxes. Gah! It was all a bit much! Add that to the week before and well, the debit card took a healthy hit! Let me show you:

Tsunami

Tsunami

Yah, I got a Golding Ring Spindle, and it spins, oh man can this baby spin!! I hear that about a lot of spindles, and then when I actually try the spindle that is raved about, I am usually disappointed. Not with this one – OMG, it will go until I don’t have enough length to my body and have to stop to wind on. I really need to check out Abby’s site to see how to deal with that issue. So, I’ve been making lace weight with this spindle that weighs in at .75 oz and is in cherry wood, using Grafton Colorways of January 2009.

Laceweight Singles

Laceweight Singles

This is a photo of the Grafton Colorway Batt for January 2009:

Grafton Fiber Colorways

Grafton Fiber Colorways

Is that gorgeous or what?? Ok, so then if spindling were not enough, (it was too much thinking time with it) I started spinning something hard, something I had never spun before:

BBF Soysilk Cotton Candy

BBF Soysilk Cotton Candy

This is 100% Soysilk that was part of Black Bunny Fibers December 2008 shipment. This is/was hard and took a lot of concentration to get it going. I need to rip off the end and spin from the fold to make this work for me, but I think it’s coming along:

BBF Soysilk on Jensen Tina II

BBF Soysilk on Jensen Tina II

I am thinking I might ply this with a cotton with beads on it, to make it really different. We’ll see, it’s a long way before I will be done! This all occurred the week of Nitro’s passing away, and the only reason I say that is now I am moving into last week! We had some horrendous weather, and yes, I know you all in the North deal with this everyday, but down here in the middle of the US we don’t have snow plows and very limited salt trucks, and what is a salt truck to do with ice?

Caryn's Aspen Tree Iced

Caryn's Aspen Tree Iced

We had three straight days of ice and sleet and rain on top of ice. . . a lot of our counties are still without power and may not get power for three weeks! It’s cold outside, guys and we can only pray that the power lines can be restored quickly. I am thankful that we did not have power or phone issues at our house this time! So, it finally warms up and melts, and yesterday we woke up to Frost – I have never seen anything like this in my life (which is officially one year older effective today!):

Frosted Landscape

Frosted Landscape

Frosted on the other side

Frosted on the other side

Frosted Front Yard

Frosted Front Yard

Please click on those to make them bigger to get the full effect! Ok, well it was amazing anyway! Now to cabled yarn, I tried to use two singles and ply them on my spindle:

More Spindle Plying

More Spindle Plying

Then I pulled this off into a center pull ball and plied them again:

15 yards of Cabled Yarn

15 yards of Cabled Yarn

And if you made it all the way through this post, I am grateful, as it seems I was wordy as well as picture crazy! Hugs to you all, and have a great week!