Bummer, eh? Yeah I think so too! So, I guess this post is about some of the stuff I could have said, but didn’t because the post was getting too long, or it just didn’t meander in this direction. . .

 

I took these photos this morning in a gloomy overcast sort of day outside, which makes my pictures look really dark, but the flash on my camera, (an older Fujifilm S3100) pretty much sucks. It tends to make the picture one total color with no definition at whatever I am pointing at, I don’t have a good fix for this, so either I show a dark picture or no picture. I personally won’t/don’t read blogs without pictures, unless it’s a long standing one on my sidebar.

Ok, so this first one is to show that I am really getting the hang of this new to me wheel:

Sunflower Merino

Sunflower Merino

I know the fiber is merino and I know the fiber was/is totally compacted so, it’s taking me a while to get it together to get the fiber in a spin-able state. Doesn’t it just make you a little put out when you have to expend so much energy just to get a roving to spin?! I have no earthly idea what I will do with this once it is finished, I may use it in experiments with making a cabled yarn.

I bought this roving from an Etsy Seller named Limegreenjelly! Is that a hoot or what? The postmark on the package said she put it in the mail on January 6th and I received it in my mailbox on January 9th. Holy Cow!! So, she is definitely one of my favorite UK sellers, and she didn’t charge me an arm and a leg to ship either.

 

Fun-Fun-Fun Merino

Fun-Fun-Fun Merino

I am really not a huge fan of plain merino, yes I know I am weird, but hey that’s me, right? So I think I will be experimenting on blending this with some kid mohair. Now, just find me some time to do that!!

Lastly, I wanted to show that I keep saying I am working on the Kai Sleeve with no picture to show it. Well here the sweater is on top of my basket next to my seat/nest in the living room:

 

Kai Sleeve Progress

Kai Sleeve Progress

This picture really isn’t too bad, as I have my Ott Light right there to help! (Except that I am showing you how messy, messy I am!)   The last repeat I did, I realized that the sleeve was too big, and why is that? Ok, I guess I will have to dig out those instructions. Yah, I should have been continuing to decrease. Well, I am not ripping (I am worried about running out of yarn) so I wrote down specifically the decreases done, and the next rows, to pick up decreasing again at this point on the other sleeve. Hopefully, I can follow my own directions!

Have a good week, everyone!!

PS: Thank you for all the well wishes for Caryn, she is totally on the mend and they are heading back to Lexington today. I’m sort of sad and sort of glad all at the same time! ☺