This past week and a half I have spent one quarter of my time in doctor’s offices trying to get my little girl on the road to recovery.  She came home from college, sick as a dog.  “But I’m fine, Mom, I don’t need to see the doctor, it’s just a cold!”  Yeah, right.  Five days later she allows me to take her in.   Sort of, I wait in the waiting room.  Ok off we go with prescriptions.   She takes all of the Z-Pack and starts looking better, we go to Transiberian Orchestra. . . she gets sick again.  Back to the Doctor.  This time, I don’t wait in the waiting room. . .well, the X-Ray machines are down, if she’s not better in the morning (after a shot, and two more prescriptions), it’s probably pneumonia and we will have to admit her to the hospital.  So, Dad ends up in the doctor’s office the next morning (I have to work once in a while) 3 and a half hours later they do a test for mono.  Yah, she has bronchitis and mono.  Rest, rest, rest. . . this is a teenager does she listen?  So, we are working on it. . . we went to the Cheesecake Factory for her birthday lunch, (and she got totally wiped from it) but tomorrow is her actual birthday when she will turn 19! 

 

Caryn's Scarf

Caryn's Scarf

 

 

In my spare time I have been trying to ply up all those bobbins I showed you a couple of weeks ago.  So, what’s the deal?  My plying skills definitely need some work, (read that as they suck!) but I mostly was plying from wound balls and I seriously think plying goes much better if you use your lazy kate. . . but this is what I’ve done:

Apples:

 

Apples Two Ply 198 Yds

Apples Two Ply 198 Yds

Winter Blush:

 

Two Ply 298 Yds

Two Ply 298 Yds

Fiddle:

 

Fiddle Two Ply 613 Yds

Fiddle Two Ply 613 Yds

Fiddle is really dark like the prior two pictures show it to be, and I have to say, I love how these two skeins came out.  I am now trying to decide if I should try to work it into the Mill Pond Cardigan I want to make, this would definitely be the darkest color.

I sold the Betty Roberts Wheel this past week and it is on it’s way to Ohio, I hope the new owner can love her, I really didn’t like the spinning action on her at all.  She was fast though and pretty! (What a fiasco all of that was, God!  You should have seen me trying to get that humongous  box into the UPS Store!)  In the meantime I got my E-Bay Norwegian Wheel all set up and I am trying to get to know her:

 

E-Bay Steal of the Year

E-Bay Steal of the Year

I’ve been trying to spin Merino on her, and I’m almost getting it.  You know how it goes learning a new wheel. . . dh, Chris *loves* the looks of this wheel and says I will never sell her.  Well, I dunno.  I do have that Watson Wheel coming in September 2009.  The two men that make up the Watson Wheel team have been in contact with me constantly about my preferences and such.  I can’t wait to get that wheel, now.  I will in the meantime be selling the Reeves and the Rose. . . oh, how I hate to say that.  The Rose has at least five WooLee winder bobbins and a lace flyer, and a jumbo flyer and a skeiner. . . but, the Tina is not going.

I will put up another wheel page highlighting the Norwegian. . . it’s really cool.  

Thanks so much for the comments, everyone, you keep me doing this!  Have a good week, everyone!