Well, here we are at the end of another year.  Where does the time go?  I  feel like a lot of it has been spent sitting right here at the computer, and one of my New Year Resolutions is to do a little less of that.  I am an internet junkie tho, and it will definitely be a hard row to hoe!  So, we’ll see what happens.  Another resolution is to get in shape, I have totally let myself go, and I need to get back to Weight Watcher’s I think.

We had a wonderful Christmas, the presents were all fabulous – at least mine were!  Chris got me new Bose speakers for my computer and it makes ITunes rock!  Love them, love them, love them!  He also got me a $50 gift certificate at one of the local yarn shops in Bowling Green.  He’s a keeper!   We are taking the tree down today in anticipation of Caryn’s birthday. . . I don’t want any cross over –

And speaking of cross overs here is Caryn’s scarf completed:

 

Blocking Caryn's Scarf

Blocking Caryn's Scarf

Yah, you can’t see that very well, huh?  Well let’s try again:

 

One last time!

One last time!

Yah, that’s a little better!  Final result is 60″ long and 5″ wide on size 8 US needles with Fiesta Boomerang in Color Glacier.  I really, really like this yarn.  It just flowed off the needles without any drag or pulling or splitting.  Five stars from me!

In other news around here, the kids got their grades, Caryn made straight A’s and Bryan got 2 B’s and 2 A’s so, we are very proud parents right now!   And let’s see, well, umh, well, you guys know how impatient I am. . . well me and the Betty Wheel simply were not bonding.  Yes, I could make beautiful yarn on her, but she was a real drag for me to spin on.  So I got a wild hair and put her up for sale, and now the new owner’s check is in the mail to me.  I got five offers for this wheel, which is not a cheap wheel, so I was a bit surprised, but pleased .  I only wish there was a better method to selling items like this.  Anyway, then in another spontaneous move I placed a bid on a Norwegian Spinning wheel on E-bay, never expecting to win, as my bid was rather low.  Well, I won:

 

Norwegian Wheel

Norwegian Wheel

This is the seller’s picture, but the wheel is gorgeous isn’t it?  I had been perusing the Watson Wheel site, and his wheels start around $1,500 – and this appears to be very close in nature to his.  This all makes me feel like I should start making spinning wheels, the wait time is quite long at the Wyatt Wheels, and Goldings are out of most of our price ranges.  Alden Amos sells wheels, but I don’t know about the wait time there.  It’s a thought, and probably a pipe dream anyway.   This wheel was made by:

 

Sharples/Daniels 1983

Sharples/Daniels 1983

Have any of you heard of this maker?  I think I will contact Grace and Fred Hutton, they restore antique wheels and may know something about this maker.  Well, that’s enough for this week, so I wishing you all to have a very Happy and Prosperous upcoming New Year!