Last week I was showing you guys all the different scarfs I either am gifting for Christmas (Mom and Martha’s) and then two other scarves I had started for Caryn, but decided they:  a) Didn’t have the “braided thingy” or, b) the fabric was too flimsy for my taste. . . so, while Caryn was here we chose this yarn from Fiesta and The Loopy Ewe:

Fiesta Boomerang

Fiesta Boomerang

She loved this color!  Every time I would toggle from one yarn to another and accidentally open this one again, she would say:  Yah, that one, or Oooh, I like that one. . . so that’s the story!  It’s superwash merino, worsted weight and it’s been a dream to work with.   I ended up casting on starting and ripping out about four times until I got it right:

 

Woven Braids Scarf

Woven Braids Scarf

It didn’t end up striping as I thought it would, but going from a picture on the internet and not having the skein in my hand is pretty difficult.  I thought the color runs were longer, but I couldn’t see that they didn’t run the “whole” skein on the picture.  Since she loved the color, I went with it. . . what do you think?   I still think the cables show clearly and that is my main objective.  I put two patterns together to come up with this combination.  Do you like it?

 

Close up of braid

Close up of braid

I had to do a set up row to make this come out right on the front, but that wasn’t any big deal. . . I am hoping to get it done for Christmas, and I think at this rate I should make it.  Of course, since I am knitting this the other wip I picked up is now languishing again until I finish the scarf, but here is the Kai Cardigan sleeve in progress:

 

Kai Sleeve

Kai Sleeve

As I was knitting on this sleeve I was truly wondering what the heck made me put it down, I was zooming along (until work got in the way again) and then I remembered that I had run out of one color and had to order more. Which I did promptly, but it took a short while to get it and in the middle I ended up picking up something else, or I started spinning or who knows? In any event, now that I am back on track I am hoping to finish up before the New Year rolls around!

So, on another note as I was perusing Ravelry and looking for good scarf patterns I fell in love with Clapotis  , yes, I know, I am probably the only person on earth that hasn’t made this scarf yet. . . so, sue me!  I loved the Lion and Lamb I had been making the X’s and O’s scarf out of, but I didn’t have enough to make Clapotis, so I started looking for trades and or for sale, and I found three skeins of this:

 

Lorna Laces Lion and Lamb

Lorna Laces Lion and Lamb

A color I have always loved. . . but, will three skeins do it?  I know the pattern calls for four but, I am short. . . well, in any event if any of you have a skein of this that you would like to destash, let me know. . . I would love to buy it!

Ok enough from me. . .have a good week everyone, and I hope you all know how much I love your comments!  I try to reply to you, but lately my Entourage program will not send out e-mail. . . (It truly pisses me off and I am desperately looking for a fix if anyone has one!) So, If I am slow to respond, this is why. . . I may have to change e-mail to Mac.  I don’t know yet. . . oh, the joys of the computer age. . .