So, enquiring minds want to know. . . how many of you out there knit for Christmas Gift Giving?  Yeah, it’s something I think I want to do. . . then life gets in the way.  The next thing you know, here we are three or four weeks from the “deadline” and wow, there hasn’t really been any knitting done for this upcoming event!

So, what do I do?  Well, I would only knit for family anyway, and we have a small immediate family (Thank God) so, scarves are quick and easy right??  OK, they do tend to go on and on. . . and on, but they are relatively easy and who out there can’t use another scarf?  Remember this one?

Mitered Scarf for Caryn

Mitered Scarf for Caryn

Yeah, she still doesn’t wear it because she says it’s scratchy.  Geez. . . doesn’t she realize that was Diamusee Fine and it took like a bazillion lunch hours to finish??  Well, I guess she is a teenager, after all, so what is a Mom to expect?  Ok, so I will make a scarf for my Mom, I know she will appreciate it:

Celtic Neck Scarf

Celtic Neck Scarf

I deviated from the pattern ending, as I thought that ribbing was a crappy way to end all that lovely cabeling.  It made me feel like the designer didn’t know how to end it, so she did the simplest thing out there to do.  So, I decided to make an I-cord finish with I-cord button hole loops:

I -Cord Button Holes

I -Cord Button Holes

I think it finishes it a little more professionally.  Now, to actually sew the buttons on. . . yah, I have finishing issues!

And then, Caryn comes home from college and says she wants one too. . .oh, but not just a neck warmer, a “real” scarf.  So, what’s a Mom to do?  Ok, well I have a really cool idea, I think:

 

I Love You Scarf

I Love You Scarf

So what do you think?  I personally love it, it’s made from Lorna’s Laces Lion and Lamb, and it’s really soft and yummy.  And all those X’s and O’s, what says I love you more than that?  So what does Caryn think?  “But Mom, it doesn’t stripe! And I like that braided thingy.”  Ok, so  grumble, grumble. . . Yup, I started another one:

Saxon Braided Scarf

Saxon Braided Scarf

And although I do think this is really pretty, I’m having issues with the flimsiness of the fabric.  This is Noro Silk Garden, and there are thick and thin spots in the yarn and it’s making me cr-A-zee!  The edges aren’t nice and crisp. . . so, this one may not get finished in this way. . . actually, I know it won’t.  More yarn is on order for the girl child. 

And you all know that I made this one for my sister – in – law in Maine:

Enterlac Scarf

Enterlac Scarf

Yup, I finally blocked and finished it up.  So, now I am waiting for yarn and in the meantime I picked up my Kai Cardigan, found my place and started in again.  No finished project yet, but I’m working on it!  That’s it from my corner of the world.  I hope you all had a good holiday week and have a great week next week!