It’s that time of year when Americans sit back and reflect on their lives and give Thanks to the Lord for all our blessings that have been given the past year. I am of course, no different, but sometimes I wonder what the plan is . . . you see, I’ve been fighting MS since the year 2000, and I had a horrible reaction to my shot yesterday. . . my sister has been fighting a diagnosis of frontotemporal dementia for the past two years and losing the battle . . . and that’s the one that I am simply devastated about. The state has taken her driver’s license away this past month, and I am very worried about her, she does have a caregiver, but we are having my mother fly out to be with her for a time to get some sort of reading on what exactly is going on in the home. . . it’s all just so disheartening! But, on a good note, the kids are coming home this week and we will all be together for a little while . . . Caryn’s boyfriend might even come over (a three hour drive. . .one way. . .) to visit with us for a bit.

On the fiber front, I’ve been working on some last minute Christmas gifts. . . nothing big, as I don’t do big for Christmas. Maybe a birthday, but not Christmas! I am making this Celtic Cabled neckwarmer for my Mom, she doesn’t like scarves and I think this will be just the thing for her!

Celtic Neck Warmer

Celtic Neck Warmer

Here’s another one:

Celtic Neckwarmer

Celtic Neckwarmer

I’ve got some perfect buttons for it, that I bought from The Button Drawer, we don’t have a good button shop here in the sticks, so, I get them on line and hope for the best! I will take a picture of the buttons when the item is being blocked.  And can you believe that I am making it out of stash yarn?!  Miracles will never cease!

And of course, I’ve been spinning – I’ve been pulling locks from Fiddle’s fleece (washed locks) and putting them through the drum carder that I have set up in the back room.  I flick out the ends and put it through, a few a day before running off to work, and this is the end result at the end of the week: 

Fiddle on bobbin

Fiddle on bobbin

And the never ending BFL Algae is still being spun up as well, I would really like to make Baltic Blossoms out of this:

lace-algae1

 

So, I am really hoping I get the yardage I need!!

I am off from work all week (Yeah!!) and I plan to work on my Kai Cardigan too, so maybe next week I will actually have a FO to show you! Let’s see if those miracles will keep on coming, huh? I hope you all have a good week, and if you have the inclination, please pray for a cure for all those auto-immune diseases out there . . .in the meantime, I will give Thanks for all the blessings I have been given over this past year. . . and there are many, all of you readers being one of them!