Hello everyone! Thank you so much for all the very nice comments last week on the Betty Roberts Wheel – she and I are still getting to know one another, but she is becoming a little more compliant! I bought some rubber grippers to put on the feet of my stool and I put her on a non skid liner shelf, and it all seems to be working out: 

Jumbo Plying Bobbin

First Spin - Cotswold


 

It’s major full, but according to the wraps on the skein winder I only managed to get 330 yards from 5 ounces of roving.  It seems wrong to me, and I need to recount the wraps I think, does anyone want to help?!  I am hoping to get enough yardage to make the Miralda’s Triangular Shawl from Knitted Lace of Estonia.

 

First Spin - Cotswold

Turkey Red Cotswold

So, although the color is a really pretty natural gray, I don’t really like gray on myself. . . it makes me look washed out and a bit sick.  So yesterday, after plying and soaking to set the twist, I took 1/16th of a teaspoon of Turkey Red Dye and added it to a tablespoon of citric acid crystals (I hate the smell of vinegar) and 1 teaspoon of sodium ash (this was for 5 ounces of yarn).  I threw this all into the extra crockpot, stuck it on the stove on low, and Chris and I went to dinner and the movies, only in reverse order.  We saw the new Quantum of Solace movie, and I just have to say that Daniel Craig, In My Personal Opinion, is the best James Bond out there.  He is one bad dude.  Anyway, I digress – this is the result of the crockpot dye when we got home: 

Turkey Red Cotswold

elfin-lace

So, what do you think?  It seems to have come out pretty well, and I just hope I can get the same color with the remaining cotswold I need to spin – I only have about four ounces left, so I may have to use two different yarns for this shawl.  I don’t necessarily think that would be bad though, as there are definite breaks in the pattern in this one.   

In the evenings I have been knitting my Walker Treasury Swatch:  Elfin Lace in Book one on page 208.  This is the best way to try all those yummy yarns out there that you want to make something with, but don’t know what!  Here is my swatch so far:

elfin-lace

elfin-lace

I have a really hard time with written instructions tho, so I would first have to chart this one out to make it! It wouldn’t be so bad though, since all the odd rows are purls –

Well, it’s off to help put away the groceries – so, hope you have a good week everyone!