Yeah, I remember the first time I heard someone say they enjoyed spinning from the locks of wool provided by buying fiber in fleece form. I was very new to the spinning world and thought, what? Are they crazy? Do you know how long it would take to get enough singles spinning that way? Well, here I am fessing up again, it really doesn’t take that long at all! You just have to do it! So let’s start with clean fleece, eh? Remember Ginger?

Ginger- Romney Fleece

Ginger- Romney Fleece

Well, even back in July when I washed her I thought I would try spinning from the lock. I don’t seriously think I will do the whole fleece this way, but, it’s been fun so far. So you pull out some of the locks and I arrange them tips to cut end. I had a picture with several lined up, but of course that one didn’t come out . . . so we will show just one here:

One Lock from Ginger

One Lock from Ginger

I comb out the ends, both ends, like you did with forever ago with your Barbie doll’s hair, hold it in the center and pull through the lock until it is nice and pretty! Line them all up and scoop them up and fold around your finger:

Spinning from the fold

Spinning from the fold

Now take a little bit of that end near your fingernail, and pull on it slightly to form some poofy fiber:

Locks pulled to make join

Locks pulled to make join

Lay that poofyness over your singles poofyness:

Can you see the Join?

Can you see the Join?

And keep on spinning! I had so many locks that I got a little impatient, and I pulled them all through my hands to make a roving:

Locks pulled into roving

Locks pulled into roving

And really that’s all there is to it.  If you don’t have any locks and you would like to try this, let me know, and I will send you some locks to play with!

In the meantime, I have been working on Caryn’s gloves (OMG will I ever finish these dang things?!) and I do like how they are turning out:

Caryn's gloves

Caryn

That massive amount of dark blue in the middle are the thumbs, just so you know. Here are the backs:

Caryn's Gloves from the Back

Caryn

Whaddya think?? Maybe they will be done for next week’s post!