Ok, so here’s a question to all of you good buds out there. Why do you spin? For a specific project? Because the wool is something you’ve never heard of before? Because the color of the roving was so freakin’ wonderful, you just couldn’t pass it up? Well, if you are talking to this girl, it is: (E): All of the above!
I love wool and all it’s properties. . .I like it in lock form, I like it in roving form, and ya, I like it in batt form! So, when Becky talked about her Tunis sheep, I looked it up in “the bible known as In Sheeps Clothing” – Well, they didn’t have a lot to say about it other than it being primarily a meat producer and a long lived breed. So, I had Becky send me some..

Tunis Roving from Becky

Tunis Roving from Becky

The 4 oz. on the left is more coarse than the 4 ounces on the right, but to be honest with you I was amazed at how soft both of these were. Not at all what I expected from a “meat breed”! It is certainly not like merino, or bfl, but I would say it’s like border leiceister roving, now I really have no reference to any other long wool except romney, but I don’t think it was even that coarse. So – I will be experimenting with dyes and my gallon jug soon!
Then on the other end of the spectrum I got this in the mail this week:

OMG! I was over the moon with this! I ripped open the plastic, and changed out my bobbin on the Tina and started spinning. Good grief, I love Leah at Yarn or a Tale!

She has the most fabulous eye for color, and it always sings to me! I love the girl, seriously, my credit card is in constant danger when I go to see what’s new on her site! So, anyway, I got about 2 ounces spun up:

Winter Blush Singles

Winter Blush Singles

It spins itself, and my neck has no issues with this wonderful fiber! I do believe this is going to end up being a shawl from Knit Spot, but I can’t say which until I get my final yardage!

And I want to mention that Marie asked for some further explanation of spinning from the lock and I plan on working up some photos of that this week – for next week’s post. . . so now that I have bored you to death with my spinning, let’s move on to some knitting content!

I quit on the Selbuvotter gloves and started a new pair for Caryn from some yarn in the stash:

Gloves for Caryn

Gloves for Caryn

I am loosely using Nancy Bush’s glove pattern and my own interpretation of what gloves should look like and feel like! I am diligently trying to write down what I am doing so I can put up a pattern for those that would like to try a larger guage glove, so it doesn’t take a year and a day to discover you don’t like it!

Chris and I took a road trip to Lexington yesterday, and got caught in the UK crazies going to the football game, and so I wipped them out in the car and so far they are meeting with her approval, so yeah! And it was discovered I have the exact same size hands as she does, with the exception of finger length and width, so that makes things easier. I hope to finish and be done with them this week. I am so sick of gloves. . .

TTY all Later! (Huggs)