And the plain truth that I don’t have any of these genes in my body, I don’t think! Yeah, so, I must apologize to each and every one of you that have been following along with my forays into solar dyeing. You know that glass *5* gallon jug I use? Yeah, (cough, cough, blush, sputter, sputter) well Marie asked a couple questions on my method, so I decided to actually measure the amount of water that jug holds. Well, who knew there was 128 oz. in a dadgum gallon?? So, I am embarrassed but, hey at least I’m fessing up right?

So, let me show you what my one gallon jug did over the course of the summer with Peggy Sue’s fleece:

Multi colored Peggy Sue

Multi colored Peggy Sue

Isn’t that just fun?? I plan to start making up some batts and possibly selling them on Etsy or not depending on how they come out and how much I can really get done! And if they even sell . . . Anyway, So, ok, I promised to show a better picture of the blue from last week and here is that picture:

Blue Locks

Blue Locks

I am really quite pleased with the results from all this solar dyeing. I had a lot of fun with it, and I hope I can continue to come up with another way to dye this winter, as it really brightens my day to pull these beautiful colors out of the bottle! This weekend I am trying to get some Suri Alpaca clean. . . OMG how do people spin this without cleaning it first? I can’t, I just can’t do it so, next week you may see that I ruined a Suri Fleece in this space!

This week at work was quite something else, so I haven’t had the energy to get Caryn’s four fingers put together into the top of her glove. . . I plan to do that today. (Football and the couch make for good knitting or spinning on Sundays!) But I have discovered that I do like spindle spinning for short periods of time since I got a wrist distaff from a gal on Etsy. So, I am slowly getting the Rose Garden spun up on the Ledbetter Spindle:

Spunky Rose Garden

Spunky Rose Garden

And I am still fiddling with spinning from the lock with my Kundert Spindle:

Spinning from the lock

Spinning from the lock

The green thing is a rubber band that I use to keep the cop from falling since the shaft is a tapered one. I have one under the cop of the Ledbetter spindle above too, I’ve just covered it up. I have to go back and find the name of the sheep that grew this fleece, I just can’t remember off the top of my head! Oh, and one more spindle shot as I am playing with them this week –

Dervish Spindle

Dervish Spindle


Isn’t that a beauty? I almost hate to spin with it as I don’t want to drop it! I am spinning some merino silk from Yarn or a Tale on this one.