Way back in 2003, I had to have a laminectomy for a herniated disc in my neck region of my spine. I was given a whole host of instructions and exercises to do, and I went away feeling so much better I thought I was on top of the world! I was told to be careful on how much “reflective” action I did and to stretch before and after any periods of long “reflection”.

Ok, no problem right? Yeah. Well, I am an accountant I work in a reflective mode. . . 8-10 hours a day. I knit – more reflection. I spin. Ok, so you see my problem right? Everything fiber wise came to a screeching halt on Wednesday last week. I took half a day off from work and posted queries on the Spin Lists on Thursday. . . and well, I have to give it a rest I think. It all comes at a good time (if there is such a thing) since we will be concentrating on moving the kiddos to Lexington on Monday (Bryan) and Saturday (Caryn) – so there won’t be a post next weekend.

So, let me show you what brought on the pain. . .

 

Romney Hand Dyed 425 yards

Romney Hand Dyed 425 yards

This is the roving I showed you last week, and as you can see,  I finally reached my 400 yard mark with 5 ounces of roving, now I hope to whittle it down to 4 ounces, eventually!  Here is a close up, and I seriously don’t know what the white curly q is in the photo above!

 

Close up of Romney Sock Yarn

Close up of Romney Sock Yarn

There is a slight variation of color, but it is so slight it is hard to see!  Then, I received this in the mail from Black Bunny Fibers:

 

BFL Algae

BFL Algae

OMG is that to die for or what???  Oh and by the way, all the dye did come off my wheel as you will see in the next photo:

 

BFL Algae

BFL Algae

That coloring is really odd, but the fiber looks right so, here is another one with the wood looking the way it should:

 

BFL Algae

BFL Algae

But, see, it’s kinda blurry!  Having problems getting good clear shots here this week.  And as I look at these more closely, you have to look in the bottom right of the top photo to see that the dye came off.  Ya, well, anyway. . . .  I use Wood Beams on all my wheels and I love the stuff, it took it right out.  

Then Leah from Yarn or a Tale sent me some Balloons, aren’t they simply gorgeous?  She supports all of our local US Farmers which is why I try so hard to support her.  And besides, her stuff is gorgeous to look at and spin (when you can spin):

Yarn or a Tale Balloons

Yarn or a Tale Balloons

And I am still working on Party Dress from Spunky Eclectic in the mornings before I head out the door to work.  Ya, corriedale. . . tough stuff for me to like.  It’s soft and it’s spinning ok, but it is so hard to keep going on it. . . maybe it’s the color, I dunno.

I guess I just over did it, but I didn’t remember the old adage of:  “Too much of a good thing can kill a person!”  

Well, so now I am knitting in small bursts (Carol, I will finish your scarf before you get here!) and I am still listening to the exploits of Jamie and Claire (and Bree and Roger) – I have made it to the Fiery Cross finally!  I love it – you all should definitely listen to this one if you have a chance.  It is such a good series!

See you all in two weeks and take care!!