Ok, you all must know by now that I am taking as much fleece as I can stuff into my gallon jar and solar dye it each week. That is if it doesn’t rain! So, last Sunday I attempted to make a teal blue kind of color from the jar – I got my apron on, gloves, and dyes out – Now this recipe took 80% blue and 20% orange – which is red and yellow mixed together. I measure out all my dry dye (and by now I am sweating profusely due to the humidity being at 150% and the temperature outside is at 90 degrees Fahrenheit – and this is at 10:00 am!) pour in the water mix it all up and voila! Blue Green!

I check my jar at 2:00 pm and it looks clear to me. . . so I bring it in and dump it out – and yes, it is steaming but the water doesn’t run clear like I thought it was, and what? What? WHAT? is this?

Romney Dyed Locks

Romney Dyed Locks

Well, Huh. But you know what? I love it! OMG! It’s gorgeous – blues and greens (“are the colors I choose, won’t you let me go down in my dreams?”) and purples and reds!! Wow! So, obviously if I say I didn’t get the dye mixed well enough, that would be an understatement eh?
So, I then let it dry on my clothes drying rack, then pulled all the locks apart from the mass of confusion that it was:

Peggy Sue's multi colored coat!

Peggy Sue's multi colored coat!

And yesterday, I started to drum card her:

Dyed Locks on the Drum Carder

Dyed Locks on the Drum Carder

I am still getting a lot of blue on my hands, so I will definitely have to try to rinse more and set the dye again. But I don’t want to go backwards at this point, so I plan to do all that with the finished yarn. Now, I hope it doesn’t make my bobbins blue! Β Here is final finished batt, I had to quit after five ounces due to the heat, but I plan to do more today.

One Batt done

One Batt done

It’s been so hot, it’s hard to get motivated to do anything! Although, I did finish up a bobbin of Silk Merino that I purchased from Leah at Yarn or a Tale last night while watching Moulin Rouge with Caryn.

Silk Merino

Silk Merino

And as I was taking pictures I noticed that I got a couple of things in this week:

Spontaneous Spinning Batt #2

Spontaneous Spinning Batt #2


And Vicki sent me this gorgeous stuff from Spunky’s Club!

Perfect Storm Wensleydale

Perfect Storm Wensleydale

I realised that I have way, way, way too much fiber in my house. And here I am making more. . . well, call me crazy, but I just love this stuff!