Have you ever tried something new and the results came out ok, but not really what you were looking for? Well, I have had a lot of those experiences and it always puts me off from trying “that” again. But, this weekend I had very limited time to myself. We had planned on running up to Bowling Green to see “The Dark Knight” and that takes half a day away from doing all the stuff that you need/or you want to do at home. Not that I didn’t want to see the movie, it’s just a time issue. The movie was great, by the way, and I agree that Heath Ledger should get the Oscar. Go see it, it’s worth the time!

So, let’s back up a step, first I want to show you guys how the Butterfly singles came out:

Spontaneous Spinning Batt Singles

Spontaneous Spinning Batt Singles

This is definitely not a balanced yarn, and I am now questioning wether or not to ply it on itself. . . any suggestions? I love it as is and there is 247 yards as a single, but what to do with a biased yarn?

So, in the meantime, and this truly took three weeks, since I had to 1) Wash the Fleece – Peggy Sue, remember? Then 2) I dyed the locks a pink-purple color – leftover from the Foray into dying Peggy Sue’s roving purple to go with Goblin Eyes. Then 3) Dyed more locks a tan-peachy color – more leftovers in the dye closet. And oh, well, I can’t count without a calculator 4) Card up the locks with some bright white cotswold locks in the back room:

Coming off Drum Carder

Coming off Drum Carder


I know it takes approximately 6 ounces to make up a pair of socks for myself and I am the only one in the house that likes knitted socks, so I carded up 6 ounces of the locks. This is an approximate 80/20 blend, I didn’t want to overpower the locks with white. Here is a full batt:
Blended Batt of Cotswold Romney

Blended Batt of Cotswold Romney

I know you can’t see the colors very well with that, it’s really a very pretty coral pink, that I am absolutely thrilled with! And it is so fun to spin, here is an open batt on the couch where I have my wheel (Tina) set up:

Unfurled Cotswold Romney Batt

Unfurled Cotswold Romney Batt

Don’t you just want to stick your fingers in that?? Oooh it’s so fine! And it’s a blast to spin, here are the singles that I was able to do up yesterday:

Cotswold Romney Singles on TinaII

Cotswold Romney Singles on TinaII

Tell me, you love it!!