I have been so consumed with spinning lately, I’m starting to wonder if I am taking this hobby a little too far! I am almost being serious, but, maybe someone out there will tell me I’m not really sick, it’s just infatuation, or something like that. Last week after washing up two Romney fleeces, (Georgia and Peggy Sue) I decided to start sampling Georgia on a Kundert Spindle. Which led me to Abby’s Yarn’s and the proper way to spin from the fold (June 20th entry).  I have to say that this adventure led me to purchasing this:

Ken Ledbetter

Ken Ledbetter

OMG is that gorgeous or what?  It weighs in at 1.68 oz, and the stone is Rhodochrosite, with Myrtle wood, and a Purple Heart Shaft.  Well, so I had to start spinning Spunky’s Rose Garden on this, as it practically matches!

 

Ledbetter Spindle with Spunky Fiber

Ledbetter Spindle with Spunky Fiber

In the meantime, on Friday I received my first Spontanous Spinning Batt from Steph at Loop:

Spontanious Club Batt #1

Spontanious Club Batt #1

It was based upon this butterfly, that I chose from a variety of butterflies she sent for us to choose from:

Butterfly

Butterfly

Is that cool or what? The fiber is silk, alpaca, merino and some colonial, with angelina glitz. It’s been quite a challenge for me to spin so far. I am a normally fine spinner and this batt  just didn’t like it. So it will be a slightly fat single ply yarn:

Butterfly Yarn

Butterfly Yarn

On the knitting front I finished my Jester Socks with lots of yarn to spare, (sorry for the color, it’s actually raining and gloomy here, so I can not complain):

Finished Jester Socks

Finished Jester Socks

And I got this from Lisa:

Lake Superior Sock!

Lake Superior Sock!

Isn’t that to dye for?? I love it – it’s blues and purples and greens, all my favorite colors! I am planning on making this:

Sally Melville Cross Over

Sally Melville Cross Over

Yah,it will probably take me 10 years to do. . . well, maybe not.

And I have started a scarf for my bestest sister-in-law (yeah, Carol, that’s you!) for her to take back with her when she visits in August. So, no photo to spoil the surprise.