We’ve come to a mile stone in the Potere household. . . my youngest child is graduating from High School today.  I am finding that I am not entirely sure how to feel about this.  My child is exceedingly smart, in the top 10% of her class and we have our days that I just can’t say anything right, and we also have our days that we are the best of friends.  I love her to pieces and it breaks my heart that she will soon be leaving to start her own life.  But, I guess as parents that is what we do.  We raise them to the best of our ability and then set them free to live their lives. . .

Boy, enough of that. . . my sister’s visit was very nice and I am so happy that she came out to see us.  I do think that she had a good time while she was here.  We did a lot of sitting and knitting and that was good for her I think.  She needed a break from the constant stress at her house, and let me tell ya, this house is very slow and laid back.  She started an afghan, then decided it was too difficult for her then started the log cabin afghan which she was able to do without assistance.  

I found that I was flitting around, first spinning and plying up the merino silk I am making for the Wyvren Wrap:Wyvren Wrap Spun Yarn

Then I flitted around doing swatches for the FLAK sweater and cast on to do the main swatch Janet tells you to do.   I am using Peace Fleece, but just don’t like the stitch definition I am getting, so I have now decided to do  a more relaxed piece using this yarn and I will keep experimenting for the FLAK.   I was thinking the Saddle Shoulder Aran by Elizabeth Zimmerman would work better, so now I am casting on for that.  

Then I read my horoscope which told me to focus or nothing would be accomplished today!  How appropriate!  So, the past two days I have done nothing but this:

Bright Charcoal

That heel was done with the Partridge Stitch and I used a 10% reduced heel as I always have problems with the back of my sock not fitting very well.  I am very pleased on how this is turning out, although I have to say I forgot that the extra stitches (from the reduced heel)  were divided up in the front and went on my merry way to about this point, when I realized my error!  What a big sock you have!  So, I had to rip back one more time to knit back to here again!  I am pretty sure I am going to run out of yarn, so I have called on some Ravelry buds to come to my rescue!

One more shot:

Have a good week everybody, and I will continue to try and stay focused on one project at a time!  Yeah, right, eh?